Quick Answer: Can I Hit My Opponents Ball First In Pool?

What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first.

If you fail and put the white ball into a hole, it’s considered as a mistake (SCRATCH).

If you make a fault, you are punished.

The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing..

Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?

So, if the player strikes the cue ball, which strikes an object ball, the object ball must either travel to a cushion or a pocket in order to be a legal shot. If the object ball does neither, it’s considered a table scratch.

What happens if you hit your opponents ball in pool?

In pool, can you hit your opponents ball after you have touched your own object ball? … As long as your own ball is hit first then the only way you foul would be a cue ball scratch, 8 ball being sunk (a loss), any ball jumping off the table (if it is the 8 ball, then it is a loss). Otherwise, it is a legal shot.

What balls do you hit in pool?

Balls: 16 balls in total, comprising a white cue ball, seven striped balls, seven solid balls, and one black ball (8 ball). Cues: Players have a cue each which can be made from wood, carbon fibre, or fibreglass and this is used for striking the cue ball.

Can you hit the ball backwards in pool?

When playing pool, there is no forward or backward. Forward is essentially whatever direction your cue is pointing when making the shot. This means that during normal play, there is no such thing as a backward shot. … Often house rules require that when the cue ball is in hand, it must be shot from behind the string.