- What happens when you scratch in pool on the break?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the 8 ball?
- Do you have to call your shot in pool?
- What are the rules when you scratch in pool?
- Do you have to take a ball out when you scratch?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- What happens if you scratch on the ball before the 8 ball?
- What happens if you hit the cue ball in with the 8 ball?
- When you scratch in pool where do you put the ball?
- Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
- What is a table scratch in 8 ball?
- Can you chip the ball in pool?
What happens when you scratch in pool on the break?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand.
On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails..
Is ball in hand a real rule?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)
Do you lose if you scratch on the 8 ball?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table.
Do you have to call your shot in pool?
Eight Ball is generally played as a call shot game, which means that before you hit a ball, you must call the shot. First you pick your shot, then you say it aloud so your opponent can hear you: “Five ball in the corner pocket” or whatever the shot is that you’re about to make.
What are the rules when you scratch in pool?
3.20 CUE BALL SCRATCH It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul.
Do you have to take a ball out when you scratch?
When scratching on an 8 ball shot, the offending player forfeits the game to his or her opponent and the game is over. However, it is only a loss if the 8 ball is no longer in play. If a player pockets the 8 ball and the cue ball in the same shot, that player forfeits the game.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
What happens if you scratch on the ball before the 8 ball?
But simply fouling/scratching while shooting at the 8 ball is not game over. It only gives ball in hand anywhere on the table, just like all fouls before it. … Legally pocket the 8-ball without fouling into a called pocket as a separate shot after clearing the table of your assigned group.
What happens if you hit the cue ball in with the 8 ball?
2 Answers. Therefore, you would lose because you scratch the cue ball into the pocket while pocketing the 8 ball.
When you scratch in pool where do you put the ball?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
means that you either hit the cue ball into a pocket, your opponent’s ball into a pocket, or you didn’t hit any balls at all. When you scratch, you automatically lose your turn. I have found three ways to “scratch”: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8-ball first (unless it is the only legal shot).
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.
What is a table scratch in 8 ball?
When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game.
Can you chip the ball in pool?
Unless otherwise stated in rules for a specific game it is legal to cause the cue ball to rise off the bed of the table by elevating the cue stick on the shot, and forcing the cue ball to rebound from the bed of the table. Any miscue when executing a jump shot is a foul.